I Don’t Drive Two Hours a Day for Kicks

For those who don’t know, I drive two hours every day to and from work five days per week. At minimum. (Although, one day, I did make it door to door in 48 minutes, but that’s not recommended or at legal speed limits).

I could stay at home. I could be barefoot and pregnant. I could be working at McDonalds – or Sheetz, for that matter, ’cause it’s a heck of a lot closer. My commute would be 3.4 miles if I worked at Sheetz! But I don’t. I work in agriculture. I work in service. Because – get this – I care and want to help people be successful in the noble field in which they choose to work.

WHAT?! Are you KIDDING me?! I know. CRAZY! (Cray cray, for those of you who enjoy that sort of thing.)

I’ve had a 2 hour a day commute since February 2010. Before I took my newest position, I couldn’t even afford a car payment for a vehicle with better gas mileage. $500 each month was dedicated to gas. (Let’s not talk carbon footprint for the past three years, please.) The non-profit world just didn’t allow for that budgetary item. No worries, though. My trusty little red truck got me where I needed to be. And it still gets me to and from Zumba, and around town when I need it.

Here is my question: What self-respecting woman points to another woman and says, “Here you are: The wife with the full-time job.” in the middle of a business meeting, but ever, really. WHO DOES THAT? Why on EARTH does it matter what the heck I do with my time to a TOTAL STRANGER who knows NOTHING about my life, my history, or what drives me to get out of bed each day? Someone who needs a serious shot of MYOB – that’s who. (That’s mind your own business, for those not up on that lingo.)

I won’t even ADDRESS the issue that she proudly announced farmers who produce commodity crops aren’t profitable. I mean, that’s just the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard. If that were the case, all but one couple Farmer Lee and I hang out with would be broke hoodlums. Judging by our social calendar, I’d say our commodity-crop producing friends are doing JUST fine. WHEW! Thank goodness for that!

So today, I worked. I drove over two hours to spend a few hours at an event that really didn’t have anything to do with my job. I came home, ran errands, and planted beets, carrots, and green beans in my garden to go along with the peas and onions that are already in there. That’s six days this week I commuted over two hours per day so I could be the “wife with the full time job.”

For the record, I’m pretty sure even if I wasn’t the “wife with the full time job,” I’d be the wife, at home, with the hubster (not hipster), farming our commodity crops and bee-bopping around doing other fun farm things, who wouldn’t sit across from other women in meetings and judge them based on how they choose to spend their daylight hours. Just sayin’.

One thought on “I Don’t Drive Two Hours a Day for Kicks

  1. Jodi, my dear, you really should listen to the crazy lady. I mean, OBVIOUSLY you not being some lazy scumbag who has no self respect or any real purpose in life other than being arm candy is indicative of the lack of profitability of all types of farming. I mean, that’s not just correlation- it’s 100% the only reason. I think that’s what she was trying to say and I’m afraid I am unable to find fault in her logic.

    Man, my head hurts from the amount of sarcasm that needed. I hope your blood temperature has drop down a few degrees to no higher than simmer 😉

Leave a Reply

