Today, I Choose to be Happy

Today, I Choose to be Happy

It was a rainy, gloomy day. One might say today was ugly.

Me? I thought it was a great day! I chose to be happy.

Why? How does one CHOOSE to be happy?

Because it was a great day for Henrietta, our badass duck!

Why is Henrietta such a badass?

That’s still a story for another day. But, here’s what Henrietta did today. . .

Henrietta was happy. She played in the puddles. She ate some worms. She quacked at me a little. She spent quality time with her friends the steer calves. She nested with them. Then she visited her big steer friends. They greet her warmly every morning. She had a great day. It was a day for the ducks.

Like Henrietta, today, I choose to be happy. About a year ago, I started limiting my time around negative people. In the past few months, I have made a conscious effort to spend more time with my friends from college who have made me a better person, who have been a positive influence on my life personally and professionally. I go out once a month with the “Real Farm Wives of Berks County and Friends.”

And that, my friends, has made all the difference! 🙂

Work has been challenging. I’m over my head in grants, and I still have people calling me and asking for grants to buy a farm. (!!?!?!) And I still can’t figure out budgets. Dang budgets.

Dude, if there were grants to BUY a FARM, I wouldn’t be answering the phone. I’d be at home farming with Farmer Lee. Are you kidding, by the way? I hope so. Please tell me you’re kidding.

I laugh anyway.

I choose to be happy. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Today, I Choose to be Happy

  1. This is why I love reading your blog, Jodi – we all need to choose happiness and surround ourselves with those who will help us in that regard. Some days, speaking for myself, I have to NOT watch the news, because it is depressing. Because in our lives there are many things that we cannot control, so we control the things we can, pray for help on the rest! Choose happiness!

Leave a Reply

