The Difference Between “I don’t have time” and “I won’t make time”

It has taken me years, but I have a new pet peeve. What is it? I’m so glad you asked. 🙂

There is a distinct difference between “not having time” and “not making time.” Please know the difference, and use each appropriately.

How does one know the difference?

You ask all the right questions. 🙂

One does not have time when one is dead.

One does not make time if one is still living.

It’s easy to say, “I didn’t have time to clean out the calf hutches today,” or “we didn’t have time to move calves today.” Really? Then why do you have enough time to stand here and tell me about it?

One of my favorite is, “I don’t have time to workout.” First, there’s a good chance if you work, and I mean work, on a farm, you don’t need a gym. I do not work, or at least hard, on the farm, and therefore, my butt needs the gym. Well, not the gym necessarily. It needs Zumba – and so does my brain. 🙂

“Oh, sorry. I’ve been meaning to call you, but I didn’t have time.” I used to say this all the time. Nope. Really I’m just a bad friend. I HAD the time. I didn’t MAKE the time in my day to do it. If I would have put a reminder in my phone I bet my phone would’ve been a-ringin’, I would have seen the task update, and it would have gotten done. But I didn’t, so I didn’t make the call. That’s a friend fail, ladies and gentlemen. Guilty as charged. Own it. Then make it right.

Factoid of the day: People typically don’t MAKE time to do things they don’t really want to do. People generally MAKE time to do things they like to do.

For example, tonight, I made time to go to Zumba, I made time to eat ice cream, and I made time to write this blog. (How kind of you to make time to read it, too! You’re too kind.)

Are my dress clothes sitting in the dryer waiting to be folded? You bet. But I’m not making time to fold them right now. And, let’s face it. I’ll never make time to put them away. I’ll pick them out and wear them straight from the basket. (Don’t act like you’ve never done that! I just do it more often than most!)

Also note: it doesn’t take being the farmer’s wife to know this difference.

And that’s your pearl for the day.

5 thoughts on “The Difference Between “I don’t have time” and “I won’t make time”

  1. My first reading you blog (I’m not sure how it’s been missed before!) and I’m tickled. As always, you are quite right! I will definitely make the time to catch up on your pearls. And I’ll remember to do that by not closing this page until it’s been done (that and my phone generally keep me slightly on task 😛 )

    • Thank you, Stacy! I didn’t widely advertise it, and by widely, I mean at all. But, I was talking with a fellow blogger Sunday night and mentioned it, and the husband was like, how did I not know about this? I thought he’d hate the idea, but he’s really into it, asking how many people read my stuff and telling me what recipes I should include. It’s hilarious, really. Who knew the farmer who said, “the internet is just a fad, and I’m not buying in,” would be so interested in the wife’s blog?! HA! If you ever want to be a guest contributor, you just let me know! 🙂

  2. I’m caught up! Also, your place is BEAUTIFUL! I’m afraid we’re not even half farmers. Grant keeps suggesting we go bigger and bigger and I’m like, with what time?! We’re both full timers at work, plus 2 beasties, Relay For Life and Shadow’s Symphony. It’s a big enough pain to make sure the chickens and the pheasants are tended during our various trips. We add too much and we’re screwed!

    Also, I’m glad Lee is interested. Grant has been telling me to write a book for years but I just don’t have the nerve to add another huge endeavor right this moment. Perhaps when the girls are older and I’m not chairing Relay and Grant has matured a bit 😛

Leave a Reply

